On the Way

A story, written bit by bit.

Two sit around the blazing fire, warmth emanating a good distance as starlight from further fires dot the sky.

One said, “I feel like we’ve come a long way. With the darkness of the woods, I couldn’t really see where we were. Even when others gave us directions, I wasn’t really sure where we were really going.”

“I know what you mean,” said the other, “I still don’t really know.”

“Yeah. But things feel better now. I mean, look at that view.”

It was a beautiful view. You could see the little channels of water flowing out across the land, splitting and combining, winding far out and away toward the horizon.

“Do you think we’re on the right track?”

The fire crackled.

“I think so. It feels right.”

Leave a Reply

